BMW M6

BMW M6 representative vehicle image
Representative editorial illustration of the BMW M6.

BMW Sedan 2006-2010,2012-2019

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
BMW
Model
BMW M6
Year range
2006-2010,2012-2019
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Vehicle coverage

Check another year or model

Change the selection or jump to a specific coverage window.

Coverage path

Choose a make, model, and supported year from the structured US/Canada vehicle database.

What is on the record for the BMW M6

Owner complaints for this model most often concern:

  • Electrical system14 (15.2%)Official recall records for this system: 1, covering model years 2007–2010.
  • Steering14 (15.2%)
  • Engine10 (10.9%)Official recall records for this system: 1, covering model years 2013.

Where a mileage was given (30 reports), it averaged 44,778 miles.

These are counts of records held, not a failure rate: no vehicles-in-service figure exists in this data, so no reliability score can be derived from it.

Explore BMW M6 problems by model year

Short answer

CarFaultIQ's corrected dataset covers the BMW M6 for 2006-2010,2012-2019. This page is a structured model hub; issue-specific claims remain evidence-gated.

Key takeaways

  • Supported years: 2006-2010,2012-2019 | Source market coverage: US and Canada | Structured catalogue hub only; no unverified fault claims

BMW M6 is represented in CarFaultIQ’s corrected vehicle catalogue for 2006-2010,2012-2019, with source coverage for US and Canada.

This catalogue hub is intended to organize verified model-year and configuration data. Recorded fuel categories: Premium Gasoline. Recorded electrification categories: not yet summarized. Recorded drivetrain categories: RWD.

These fields describe structured dataset coverage only. Reliability, common-problem, recall, complaint, repair-cost and drivability claims should be added only when model-specific evidence has been verified.

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Premium Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: RWD
  • Total structured variants: 80

2019 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaCoupePremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomated Manual 7-speed
USCoupePremium GasolineGasolineRWDAutomatic (AM-S7)
USCoupePremium GasolineGasolineRWDManual 6-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

6 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 20V094000 — model years 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2014-2019 M6 Gran Coupe vehicles. The third brake light may become loose, possibly allowing the light to detach from the vehicle.

  • 17V495000 — model years 2013

    BMW of North America, LLC. (BMW) is recalling certain 2012-2013 BMW X3 xDrive28i, X3 xDrive35i, and M6 Convertible vehicles and 2013 M6 Coupe vehicles. The affected vehicles have a driver's frontal air bag inflator that may have been improperly welded.

  • 16V914000 — model years 2017

    BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain model year 2017 BMW 640i, 640i xDrive, 650i, 650i xDrive, M6, 535i, 535i xDrive, 430i, 430i xDrive, 440i, 440i xDrive, M4, X1 sDrive28i, X1 xDrive28i, i3, i8, Rolls-Royce Dawn, Mini Clubman Cooper, Clubman Cooper S, Cooper…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

417 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10249027 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    The electrical system of BMW vehicles has been subject to an ongoing development process over the last few years. This has led to increased demands being placed on the battery. This document covers important information for the dealer on how to handle “discharged battery” complaints.

  • 10244237 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    Functional noises (squealing/honking) when braking shortly before the vehicle comes to a stop. CAUSE Material-

  • 10239605 — model years 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    The Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) warning light comes on while driving. The following DSC fault codes for the wheel speed sensors are stored: 480712 and/or 480715 and/or 480718 and/or 48071B They cannot be cleared, even though the wheel speed sensors work correctly and no problem…

Official NHTSA source

US owner complaint reports

24 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • STEERING: 7 reports
  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 7 reports
  • POWER TRAIN: 5 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model