Chrysler Cirrus

Chrysler Sedan 1995-2000

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Chrysler
Model
Chrysler Cirrus
Year range
1995-2000
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Vehicle coverage

Check another year or model

Change the selection or jump to a specific coverage window.

Coverage path

Choose a make, model, and supported year from the structured US/Canada vehicle database.

What is on the record for the Chrysler Cirrus

Owner complaints for this model most often concern:

  • Brakes448 (19.2%)Official recall records for this system: 8, covering model years 1995–2000.
  • Powertrain (transmission & drivetrain)256 (11.0%)Official recall records for this system: 2, covering model years 1995–1999.
  • Engine216 (9.2%)Official recall records for this system: 2, covering model years 1995–1996.

Where a mileage was given (324 reports), it averaged 87,891 miles.

These are counts of records held, not a failure rate: no vehicles-in-service figure exists in this data, so no reliability score can be derived from it.

Explore Chrysler Cirrus problems by model year

Short answer

CarFaultIQ's corrected dataset covers the Chrysler Cirrus for 1995-2000. This page is a structured model hub; issue-specific claims remain evidence-gated.

Key takeaways

  • Supported years: 1995-2000 | Source market coverage: US and Canada | Structured catalogue hub only; no unverified fault claims

Chrysler Cirrus is represented in CarFaultIQ’s corrected vehicle catalogue for 1995-2000, with source coverage for US and Canada.

This catalogue hub is intended to organize verified model-year and configuration data. Recorded fuel categories: Regular Gasoline. Recorded electrification categories: not yet summarized. Recorded drivetrain categories: FWD.

These fields describe structured dataset coverage only. Reliability, common-problem, recall, complaint, repair-cost and drivability claims should be added only when model-specific evidence has been verified.

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 18

2000 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

19 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 10E059000 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

    FEDERAL-MOGUL IS RECALLING CERTAIN REPLACEMENT CONTROL ARM ASSEMBLIES, PART NUMBERS K7425, 10945, FA4510X, K7427, 10946, AND FA4611X, SOLD FOR USE ON VARIOUS PASSENGER VEHICLES LISTED ABOVE. THE BALL JOINT ON THE CONTROL ARM ASSEMBLY CAN FAIL CAUSING THE BALL STUD TO WEAR THROUGH THE CONTROL…

  • 09E056000 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

    QUALIS AUTOMOTIVE IS RECALLING CERTAIN AFTERMARKET BALL JOINTS SOLD FOR USE ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES. THE SOCKET MAY HAVE BEEN EXCESSIVELY HARDENED WHICH COULD CAUSE IT TO CRACK NEAR THE RETAINING RING GROOVE ALLOWING THE BALL STUD TO SEPARATE UNDER IMPACT LOAD. THE SUBJECT BALL…

  • 09E043000 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000

    IMPORT PRODUCTS IS RECALLING 30,351 FUEL FILTERS SOLD TO AND BRANDED BY THE AFFINIA GROUP AS CARQUEST P/N 86523, NAPA P/N 3523, AND WIX P/N 33523 FOR USE AS REPLACEMENT EQUIPMENT ON THE VEHICLES LISTED ABOVE. THESE FILTERS MAY DEVELOP A LEAK IN THE HOSE…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

176 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10221686 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000

    KEY, Master If replacing the key/FOBIK on a WJ, KJ, TJ, or PT Cruiser, use the "AC" NIC level part number. The "AB" NIC level will not program to these platforms. For all other platforms, if the "AB" NIC level will not program to the…

  • 10229256 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000

    KEY, Master If replacing the key/FOBIK on a WJ, KJ, TJ, or PT Cruiser, use the "AC" NIC level part number. The "AB" NIC level will not program to these platforms. For all other platforms, if the "AB" NIC level will not program to the…

  • 10175735 — model years 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

    Charging System, Battery Diagnostic Tools and Warranty This information only bulletin discusses using the correct test equipment for testing batteries and charging systems, and also warranty reimbursement when battery replacements are necessary.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

9 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • EA05019 — model years 1999, 2000

    ODI HAS RECEIVED 29 REPORTS OF ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRES THAT APPEAR TO BE RELATED TO POWER STEERING HOSE LEAKAGE IN MODEL YEAR (MY) 1999 AND 2000 CHRYSLER CIRRUS, DODGE STRATUS AND PLYMOUTH BREEZE VEHICLES (JA-CARS) EQUIPPED WITH 2.4L ENGINES.THESE REPORTS INDICATE THAT THE FIRE RESULTED…

  • PE05036 — model years 1999, 2000

    ON JUNE 29, 2005, ODI OPENED PRELIMINARY EVALUATION PE05-036 TO INVESTIGATE COMPLAINTS OF ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRES IN MODEL YEAR (MY) 1999-2000 CHRYSLER CIRRUS, DODGE STRATUS AND PLYMOUTH BREEZE PASSENGER CARS (JA CARS). THE JA CARS WERE INTRODUCED IN MY 1995 AND ENDED WITH MY 2000.THEY…

  • EA03011 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999

    THE MANUFACTURER REPORTS ABOVE ARE BASED ON DAIMLERCHRYSLER?S (DC) ANALYSIS OF MODEL YEAR (MY) 1998 (POPULATION = 356,384) AND 1999 (POPULATION = 486,948) JA, JX AND LH FAMILY SUBJECT VEHICLE DATA (EARLIER MYS EXCLUDED).THE POPULATION NUMBER INCLUDES ALL MYS.THE PRECISE NUMBER OF DUPLICATES BETWEEN ODI…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

14 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2006003 — model years 1999, 2000

    On certain vehicles equipped with a 2.4L engine, the high pressure power steering hose is routed in a high temperature area, which could cause it to age prematurely and develop a leak. Power steering fluid leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result…

  • 2004003 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999

    On certain vehicles equipped with an automatic transmission and a floor-mounted shifter, the ignition-park interlock may become defeated and allow the shifter to be moved out of the Park position with the key removed. An inoperative interlock may also allow the key to be removed…

  • 2000160 — model years 2000

    Certain vehicles may have been built with an inadequate weld between the right front brake hose block and the stand-off bracket creating the possibility of separation of the stand-off bracket from the block. This could cause fatigue damage of the right front brake tube and…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

828 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK/TRACTION CONTROL/ELECTRONIC LIMITED SLIP: 93 reports
  • POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: 71 reports
  • VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: 57 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model