Oldsmobile Ciera

Oldsmobile Sedan 1996

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Oldsmobile
Model
Oldsmobile Ciera
Year range
1996
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Vehicle coverage

Check another year or model

Change the selection or jump to a specific coverage window.

Coverage path

Choose a make, model, and supported year from the structured US/Canada vehicle database.

What is on the record for the Oldsmobile Ciera

Owner complaints for this model most often concern:

  • Brakes58 (27.9%)
  • Engine26 (12.5%)
  • Powertrain (transmission & drivetrain)24 (11.5%)

These are counts of records held, not a failure rate: no vehicles-in-service figure exists in this data, so no reliability score can be derived from it.

Explore Oldsmobile Ciera problems by model year

Oldsmobile Ciera is a structured vehicle model hub covering 1996 in US/CA.

Recorded fuel categories: Regular Gasoline. Recorded electrification categories: not yet summarized. Recorded drivetrain categories: FWD.

Use Find Your Car to select a supported year, then continue to symptoms, warning lights, OBD codes, and diagnostic guidance. This baseline page does not claim model-specific reliability, repair cost, or problem frequency.

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 5

1996 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaSlRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
CanadaSlRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
USSlRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 3-speed
USSlRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed
USSlRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

1 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 95V173000 — model years 1996

    THESE VEHICLES WERE ASSEMBLED WITH REAR OUTBOARD SAFETY BELT ANCHORAGES THAT MAY NOT WITHSTAND THE REQUIRED LOAD. THIS DOES NOT COMPLY WITH FMVSS NO.210, "SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY ANCHORAGES."

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

4 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 52935 — model years 1996

    INFORMATION CONCERNING ENGINE KNOCK/RATTLE OR TAP NOISE BEFORE ENGINE HAS REACHED OPERATING TEMPERATURE OR UNDER LIGHT LOAD CONDITIONS AT OPERATING TEMPERATURE (REPLACE PISTON AND/OR ROD ASSEMBLIES). AK

  • 51302 — model years 1996

    KNOCK, RATTLE OR TAP NOISE FROM THE ENGINE BEFORE THE ENGINE HAS REACHED OPERATING TEMPERATURE OR UNDER LIGHT LOAD CONDITIONS AT OPERATING TEMPERATURE KNOCK, RATTLE OR TAP NOISE FROM THE ENGINE BEFORE THE ENGINE HAS REACHED OPERATING TEMPERATURE OR UNDER LIGHT LOAD CONDITIONS AT RATURE…

  • 51497 — model years 1996

    COLD START RATTLE NOISE (DIAGNOSIS/SERVICE PROCEDURE). *TW

Official NHTSA source

US owner complaint reports

83 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK/TRACTION CONTROL/ELECTRONIC LIMITED SLIP: 13 reports
  • POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: 7 reports
  • ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE:GASOLINE: 6 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model