Toyota FJ Cruiser

Toyota FJ Cruiser vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Toyota Sedan 2007-2014

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Toyota
Model
Toyota FJ Cruiser
Year range
2007-2014
Generation
2007–2014 · 1st Generation
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Vehicle coverage

Check another year or model

Change the selection or jump to a specific coverage window.

Coverage path

Choose a make, model, and supported year from the structured US/Canada vehicle database.

What is on the record for the Toyota FJ Cruiser

Owner complaints for this model most often concern:

  • Body & structure680 (27.9%)
  • Brakes278 (11.4%)Official recall records for this system: 1, covering model years 2011–2012.
  • Suspension244 (10.0%)Official recall records for this system: 1, covering model years 2014.

Where a mileage was given (1,338 reports), it averaged 64,722 miles.

These are counts of records held, not a failure rate: no vehicles-in-service figure exists in this data, so no reliability score can be derived from it.

Explore Toyota FJ Cruiser problems by model year

Short answer

Toyota FJ Cruiser has CarFaultIQ coverage for 2007-2014, including structured variants, market coverage, and matched local evidence where available. It is not a reliability score or recall lookup.

Key takeaways

  • Structured coverage: 2007-2014 with no year or variant posts.
  • Market coverage: United States and Canada.
  • Recall evidence: no matched local recall row; this is not an absence claim.
  • Complaint signals: no matched local complaint row; local coverage may be incomplete.
  • Publication gate: human review remains required before publishing.

The Toyota FJ Cruiser hub is a CarFaultIQ evidence page for a consumer vehicle model represented in the structured dataset with year, market, powertrain, and configuration coverage. It connects the imported vehicle-year database with local recall and owner-complaint snapshots, then points toward relevant diagnostic references without making unsupported reliability or repair-cost claims.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage currently spans 2007-2014 with 8 canonical model-year records and 40 structured variants. Market coverage in the imported data includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration overview

Imported source records list fuel or energy labels including Premium Gasoline|Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|X|Gasoline|Z. Drivetrain and trim-level detail remains in the structured selector rather than separate year or variant posts.

Selected-year evidence module

Use the structured year selector on this page to compare imported variants and local evidence status by model year. The selector is intentionally dynamic; CarFaultIQ does not create one page per model year or trim.

Relevant diagnostic references

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Start with a cold vehicle when possible and note warning lights before clearing any codes.
  • Road-test idle quality, acceleration, shift behavior, steering, braking, and operating temperature.
  • Scan for stored codes and inspect for fluid leaks, tire wear, and underbody damage.
  • Check VIN-specific recalls in official tools because the local snapshot may not contain every applicable campaign.
  • Use a qualified pre-purchase inspection; this page is an evidence hub, not a substitute for diagnosis.

Evidence strength and limitations

This page separates recall evidence from complaint signals. Local evidence can be incomplete, and a missing matched row is not the same as proof that no recall, complaint, service bulletin, or owner concern exists.

Source notes

Structured vehicle coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from the local NHTSA harvester snapshots. Official recall applicability must be checked by VIN at NHTSA recalls.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Toyota FJ Cruiser years?

No. It shows structured coverage and local evidence signals without ranking reliability, safety, repair cost, or best and worst years.

Does a matched recall mean every Toyota FJ Cruiser is affected?

No. Recall campaign rows must be checked by VIN because applicability can depend on year, build date, equipment, market, and completed remedies.

Are complaint signals proof of a defect?

No. Complaint rows are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation or frequency.

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Premium Gasoline, Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: 4WD/AWD, 4X4, RWD, 4WD, AWD
  • Total structured variants: 40

2014 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
Canada4WDRegular GasolineNot specified4WDManual 6-speed
Canada4WDRegular GasolineNot specified4WDAutomatic 5-speed
US2WDRegular GasolineGasolineRWDAutomatic 5-speed
US4WDRegular GasolineGasoline4WDAutomatic 5-speed
US4WDRegular GasolineGasolineAWDManual 6-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

19 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 20V012000 — model years 2014

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) recalled certain 2018-2019 4Runner, Highlander, Camry, Land Cruiser, Sequoia, Sienna, Tacoma and Tundra, and Lexus RC 300, RC 350, GS 350, GX 460, IS 300, LC 500, LS 500, LX 570, RX 350L, and 2019 Toyota Avalon and Corolla,…

  • 16V396000 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010

    Southeast Toyota Distributors, LLC (SET) is recalling certain 2005-2011 4Runner, Highlander, Sequoia, and Sienna, 2005-2010 Avalon and Tundra, 2006-2008 Camry Solara, 2006-2010 Highlander hybrid, 2006-2011 Rav4 and Tacoma, 2007-2010 FJ Cruiser, 2007-2011 Camry hybrid, 2009-2010 Venza, 2010-2012 Prius, 1988-1990 and 2005-2010 Camry, and 1989 and…

  • 15V081000 — model years 2014

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain model year 2014 FJ Cruiser vehicles manufactured August 7, 2013, to August 20, 2013. In the affected vehicles, the intermediate steering shaft which connects the steering wheel and the steering gear box may have an inadequate…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

259 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11028712 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

    Some 2005 – 2026 Toyota vehicles that have undergone water intrusion may exhibit a condition in which a musty odor is present. Follow the procedures in this bulletin to remediate the odor and address this condition. The purpose of this Service Bulletin is to provide…

  • 11020657 — model years 2013, 2014

    The air conditioning dye injection tool kit has been developed to aid in identifying the location of air conditioning refrigerant leaks. The procedures outlined in this Service Bulletin aid in locating, inspecting, and repairing refrigerant leaks.

  • 11012744 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

    The condition known as acid rain is caused by airborne chemicals or particles in the atmosphere, which mix with rainwater, nighttime dew, or high humidity to form acidic compounds. If these contaminants settle and remain on a painted vehicle surface, especially the horizonal areas of…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

8 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2021723 — model years 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2020514 — model years 2014

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2020088 — model years 2014

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

905 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • STRUCTURE:BODY: 278 reports
  • SUSPENSION: 120 reports
  • UNKNOWN OR OTHER: 112 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model