Ford Taurus

Ford Taurus representative vehicle image
Representative editorial illustration of the Ford Taurus.

Ford Sedan 1995-2019

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Ford
Model
Ford Taurus
Year range
1995-2019
Generation
1995 · 2nd Generation; 1996–1999 · 3rd Generation; 2008–2009 · 5th Generation; 2010–2019 · 6th Generation
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Ford Taurus 1996–1999 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Ford Taurus year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Ford Taurus coverage

Short answer

Ford Taurus coverage spans 1995-2019 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 1995-2019; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Ford Taurus page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 1995-2019 across 25 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Gasoline|Regular Gasoline|Premium Gasoline|Regular Gasoline|Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|X|Gasoline|X|Z. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Ford Taurus years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Ford Taurus is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Ford Taurus 1996–1999

No verified model-specific fault records for 1996–1999 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Gasoline, Regular Gasoline, Premium Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: 4WD/AWD, AWD, FWD, 4WD
  • Total structured variants: 125

2019 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaEthanol (E85)Not specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
CanadaAWDRegular GasolineNot specifiedAWDAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
CanadaAWDEthanol (E85)Not specifiedAWDAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
CanadaAWDRegular GasolineNot specifiedAWDAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
USAWDRegular GasolineGasolineAWDAutomatic (S6)
USAWDGasolineGasolineAWDAutomatic (S6)
USFWDRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S6)
USFWDGasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S6)

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

58 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 25V695000 — model years 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019

    Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2015-2019 Flex, 2015 Explorer, Lincoln MKT, Lincoln MKZ, 2015-2016 C-Max, Escape, Taurus, 2016 Fusion, 2018-2019 Taurus, 2019 Lincoln MKT, Fiesta, and 2020 Mustang vehicles. The rearview camera may display a distorted, intermittent, or blank image when the vehicle…

  • 25V611000 — model years 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Taurus vehicles. The driver and front passenger B-Pillar door trim may detach while driving.

  • 20V692000 — model years 2014, 2015

    Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2014-2016 Explorer, 2014-2015 Taurus and 2014 Edge vehicles equipped with 2.0L or 2.3L engines and front wheel drive. The support bracket for the front drive axle halfshaft may fail.

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

934 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11035464 — model years 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    NEW VEHICLE DELIVERY HOLD - Emissions Recall 25E10 - Supplement #1 Certain 2018-2020 Model Year F-150 Vehicles With 3.3L Engines and 2016-2019 Model Year Explorer, Taurus, and Flex Vehicles With 3.5L Engines Powertrain Control Module (PCM) Reprogramming

  • 11030282 — model years 2017

    Advance Notice – Customer Satisfaction Program 25N17 Certain 2015-2025 Model Year Multiple Vehicle Lines Rear View Camera Replacement If Required After Dealer Evaluation

  • 11029052 — model years 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    Ford and Lincoln vehicles equipped with wired keyless entry keypad systems and accessory wireless keyless entry keypad systems may or may not come with a wallet card containing the master code. Unlike the integrated wired keypad, the accessory wireless keypad master code cannot be retrieved…

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

18 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • PE12033 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003

    On June 21, 2013, Ford initiated Customer Satisfaction Program 13B04 to address a concern with Speed Control Cable damage in certain model year (MY) 2000 through 2003 Taurus and Sable vehicles equipped with 3.0L 4V Duratec engines and built at the Chicago assembly plant.In the…

  • PE12005 — model years 2004, 2005, 2006

    Preliminary Evaluation (PE)12-005 was opened to investigate allegations of speed control cables detaching from the throttle body and subsequently interfering with the throttle closing fully to the idle position in model year (MY) 2005 and 2006 Ford Taurus vehicles.The speed control cable, throttle body attachment…

  • PE08060 — model years 2007, 2008

    ON OCTOBER 14, 2008, ODI OPENED PE08-060 TO INVESTIGATE ALLEGATIONS OF CRACKED AND LEAKING SNAP-IN TIRE VALVES IN MODEL YEAR (MY) 2007 VEHICLES MANUFACTURED BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY.THE VALVES WERE SUPPLIED TO FORD BY TOPSEAL AUTO-PARTS, A SUBSIDIARY OF THE SHANGHAI BAOLONG AUTOMOTIVE CORPORATION IN…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

48 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2025483 — model years 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    Issue: On certain vehicles, the exterior B-pillar trims on the driver and front passenger doors may not be properly attached. As a result, the trim(s) could loosen and separate from the vehicle. Safety Risk: Trim that detaches from the vehicle could create a road hazard…

  • 2020536 — model years 2014, 2015

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2020051 — model years 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

12,948 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: 1,639 reports
  • SUSPENSION:FRONT:SPRINGS:COIL SPRINGS: 914 reports
  • POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: 895 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model