The Honda Element page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.
Supported years and market coverage
Structured coverage spans 2003-2011 across 9 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.
Powertrain and configuration coverage
Imported fuel labels include Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|Gasoline|X. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.
Evidence limitations
This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.
Diagnostic navigation
- No-start diagnostic path – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- Acceleration hesitation checks – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- Brake pedal feel checks – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- Check engine light guidance – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- Battery warning light guidance – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- P0300 misfire reference – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- P0420 catalyst reference – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- Pre-purchase inspection guide – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
- OBD code reading guide – contextual diagnostic reference, not a model-specific incidence claim.
Used-car inspection priorities
- Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
- Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
- Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
- Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.
Source notes
Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.
Frequently asked questions
Does this page rank the best or worst Honda Element years?
No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.
Does a recall row mean every Honda Element is affected?
No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.
Are complaint signals confirmed defects?
No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.
Structured vehicle data
These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.
- Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
- Electrification: Gasoline
- Drivetrain: 4WD/AWD, 4X4, FWD, AWD, 4WD
- Total structured variants: 60
2011 structured configurations
| Market | Trim/source label | Fuel | Electrification | Drive | Transmission |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | Regular Gasoline | Not specified | Not specified | Automatic 5-speed | |
| Canada | AWD | Regular Gasoline | Not specified | AWD | Automatic 5-speed |
| US | 2WD | Regular Gasoline | Gasoline | FWD | Automatic 5-speed |
| US | 4WD | Regular Gasoline | Gasoline | AWD | Automatic 5-speed |
| US | 4WD | Regular Gasoline | Gasoline | AWD | Manual 5-speed |
Official evidence for this model
Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.
US safety recalls
24 distinct official identifiers · US
Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.
- 19E068000 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Dorman Products, Inc. (Dorman) is recalling certain Accelerator Pedal Assemblies part numbers 699-114 and 825-5029-1, sold as replacement parts for 2003-2006 Acura MDX, 2004-2008 Acura TL and TSX, 2003-2007 Honda Accord, 2005-2006 Honda CR-V, 2007-2011 Honda Element, 2005-2008 Honda Pilot and 2006-2014 Honda Ridgeline vehicles.…
- 19V501000 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2003-2006 Acura MDX, 2005-2012 RL, 2003-2007 Honda Accord, 2001-2005 Civic, 2003-2005 Civic Hybrid, 2001-2005 Civic GX NGV, 2002-2006 CR-V, 2003-2011 Element, 2007-2008 Fit, 2002-2004 Odyssey, 2003-2008 Pilot, and 2006-2014 Ridgeline vehicles. The vehicles are equipped with passenger…
- 19V499000 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2003 Acura 3.2CL, 2002-2003 3.2TL, 2003-2006 MDX, 2001-2007 Honda Accord, 2001-2005 Civic, 2003-2005 Civic Hybrid, 2001-2005 Civic GX NGV, 2002-2006 CR-V, 2003-2011 Element, 2002-2004 Odyssey, 2003-2008 Pilot and 2006 Ridgeline vehicles. These vehicles are equipped with driver…
Manufacturer communications / TSBs
233 distinct official identifiers · US
Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.
- 11034200 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006
Service Bulletin - Warranty Extension: Customer Support Program For Front Passenger's Airbag Inflator.
- 11034199 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Service Bulletin - Warranty Extension: Customer Support Program For Front Passenger's Airbag Inflator.
- 10237952 — model years 2009, 2010
Service News - The navigation clock and date are incorrect. This is due to a limited GPS receiver Capacity resulting in a rollover of the internal chip memory; the rollover occurred on January 1, 2022, at 12:00AM local time.
US defect investigations
5 distinct official identifiers · US
An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.
- EA21002 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
From 2000 through 2017, Takata produced millions of air bag inflators using two types of phase-stabilized ammonium nitrate ("PSAN") propellant -- propellant 2004 and propellant 2004L. After prolonged exposure to high temperature cycles and humidity, inflators using propellant 2004 can degrade, causing the propellant to…
- EA15001 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.
- PE14016 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.
Canadian recalls
14 distinct official identifiers · CA
Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.
- 2021024 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Issue: On certain vehicles, the rear frame could rust. In extreme cases, this could result in a rear trailing arm separating from the vehicle. This recall applies to vehicles originally sold or currently registered in areas of heavy road salt usage (Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick,…
- 2019323 — model years 2003, 2004
Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.
- 2019117 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.
US owner complaint reports
1,279 distinct reports · US
Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.
- VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD: 335 reports
- AIR BAGS: 261 reports
- SUSPENSION: 107 reports
A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.
Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.