Honda S2000

Honda S2000 vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Honda Sedan 2000-2009

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Honda
Model
Honda S2000
Year range
2000-2009
Generation
2000–2003 · AP1; 2004–2009 · AP2
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Honda S2000 2000–2003 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Honda S2000 year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Honda S2000 coverage

Short answer

Honda S2000 coverage spans 2000-2009 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 2000-2009; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Honda S2000 page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 2000-2009 across 10 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Premium Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|Z. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Honda S2000 years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Honda S2000 is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Honda S2000 2000–2003

No verified model-specific fault records for 2000–2003 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Premium Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: RWD
  • Total structured variants: 20

2009 evidence status

  • Local recall evidence: 0 applicable campaign records.
  • Local complaint-signal coverage: No direct model-year complaint-signal rows exist in the local harvester snapshot; this does not mean no complaints exist.
  • Evidence strength: LIMITED.
  • Limitations: The local recall and complaint snapshot has no directly applicable record for this model-year; do not interpret this as evidence of absence.

2009 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaPremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 6-speed
USPremium GasolineGasolineRWDManual 6-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

5 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 13V246000 — model years 2006, 2007

    American Honda Motor Co., Inc. (Honda) is recalling certain model year 2006 Acura RSX vehicles manufactured January 18, 2006, through August 12, 2006; and model year 2006-2007 Honda S2000 vehicles manufactured January 19, 2006, through November 13, 2006. The brake booster may be unable to…

  • 06V270000 — model years 2006

    ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES AND MOTORCYCLES, THE OWNER'S MANUALS CONTAIN INCORRECT CONTACT INFORMATION FOR THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION'S (NHTSA) VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE.

  • 04V257000 — model years 2000

    CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES FAIL TO CONFORM TO THE REQUIREMENTS OF FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARD NO. 108, "LAMPS, REFLECTIVE DEVICES, AND ASSOCIATED EQUIPMENT." THE LENS OF THE SIDE MARKER LAMP AND SIDE REFLEX REFLECTOR IN THE TAIL LAMP ASSEMBLY WERE MANUFACTURED WITH INCORRECT DYE.

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

131 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10186009 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

    "Service Bulletin - There are several A/C leak detection tools available. -Refrigerant Gas Leak Detector -Ultrasonic Leak Detector -Leak Dye"

  • 10142447 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008

    Tech line summary article - Is the MIL on with DTC P2271 (secondary HO2S [sensor 2] circuit signal stuck rich)? What's likely causing this is the PCM is misinterpreting the A/F sensor (sensor 1) signals, causing the PCM to think that sensor 2 is stuck…

  • 10087261 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

    SERVICE BULLETIN - ALL OF THE LISTED VEHICLES HAVE A TYPE 4 IMMOBILIZER SYSTEM THAT DISABLES THE VEHICLE UNLESS A PROGRAMMED IGNITION KEY IS USED. THE TYPE 4 SYSTEM IS DIFFERENT THAN PREVIOUS SYSTEMS IN THAT THE TRANSPONDER ID CODE IN THE KEY IS A…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

4 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2013207 — model years 2006, 2007

    On certain vehicles, the brake booster may have been manufactured incorrectly and could develop a leak. As such, the booster may be unable to maintain vacuum when the brake pedal is depressed. Loss of brake power assist could occur, which may result in a crash…

  • 2004188 — model years 2000

    Certain vehicles do not comply with the requirements of CMVSS 108. The lens of the side marker lamp and side reflex reflector in the tail lamp assembly were manufactured with incorrect dye that is more susceptible to UV and high temperature decomposition. As a result,…

  • 2000237 — model years 2000

    On certain vehicles, the seat belt retractor actuator can deform and cause unwanted, complete or infrequent, locking of the retractor. As a result, it may not be possible to pull the seat belt out of the retractor, rendering the belt unusable. Correction: Seat belt retractor…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

107 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • STRUCTURE: 8 reports
  • ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE: 8 reports
  • POWER TRAIN:MANUAL TRANSMISSION: 7 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

  1. Inspect from cold for fluid leaks, warning lights, and stable idle.
  2. Check clutch engagement, every manual gear, steering response, and brake feel.
  3. Inspect convertible-top operation, drains, tires, suspension, and evidence of track or collision use.
  4. Scan for stored codes without treating a clear scan as proof of condition.
  5. Use an age-appropriate professional pre-purchase inspection.

Recall/safety notes

The local project snapshot did not identify a directly applicable recall record. This is not a claim that no recalls exist; verify by VIN in official tools.

Keep going

Next best action for this model