Hyundai IONIQ

Hyundai IONIQ vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Hyundai Sedan 2017-2022

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Hyundai
Model
Hyundai IONIQ
Year range
2017-2022
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Hyundai IONIQ 2017 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Hyundai IONIQ year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Hyundai IONIQ coverage

Short answer

Hyundai IONIQ coverage spans 2017-2022 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 2017-2022; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Hyundai IONIQ page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 2017-2022 across 6 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Electricity|Electricity|X*|Regular Gasoline|Electricity|Regular Gasoline|Electricity|X*|Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Electric|Electric|Plug-in Hybrid|Gasoline|X|Electric|Gasoline|X|Electric|Plug-in Hybrid|Gasoline|X. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Hyundai IONIQ years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Hyundai IONIQ is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Hyundai IONIQ 2017

No verified model-specific fault records for 2017 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Electricity, Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Electric, Gasoline, Plug-in Hybrid
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 29

2022 evidence status

  • Local recall evidence: 0 applicable campaign records.
  • Local complaint-signal coverage: No direct model-year complaint-signal rows exist in the local harvester snapshot; this does not mean no complaints exist.
  • Evidence strength: LIMITED.
  • Limitations: The local recall and complaint snapshot has no directly applicable record for this model-year; do not interpret this as evidence of absence.

2022 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomated Manual 6-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomated Manual 6-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (AM-S6)
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (AM-S6)
USPlug-in Hybrid|Plug-In Hybrid|HybridRegular GasolineElectric, Plug-in HybridFWDAutomatic (AM-S6)
USPlug-in Hybrid|Plug-In Hybrid|HybridElectricityElectric, Plug-in HybridNot specifiedAutomated Manual 6-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

19 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10254336 — model years 2020

    This bulletin provides the procedure to update the BMS (Battery Management System), MCU (Motor Control Unit), VCULDC (Vehicle Control Unit / Low DC-DC Converter) and IGPM (Integrated Gateway Power Module) to enhance the battery diagnostics logic for 2020-21MY IONIQ Electric (AE EV) vehicles.

  • 10251285 — model years 2020

    This bulletin contains information about the proper removal of the windshield wiper blade protective cover on all models. If the protective cover is not removed correctly, there is a possibility of the rubber insert and rail spring becoming partially separated on the inner side of…

  • 10247189 — model years 2020

    This bulletin provides important checkpoint guidelines when performing engine oil and filter change services.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

1 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • DP22005 — model years 2022

    NHTSA received a petition on or about July 18, 2022, requesting that Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 141 be applied to all electric and hybrid vehicles operating in the United States. The petition can be reviewed at NHTSA.gov under ODI Number 11486072. FMVSS 141…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

7 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2021735 — model years 2017, 2018, 2019

    Issue: On certain Ioniq EV models, the vehicle could accelerate after the accelerator pedal is released. Note: This problem can only happen under certain conditions after the vehicle enters "fail-safe" mode. Safety Risk: A vehicle that continues to accelerate could create the risk of a…

  • 2021109 — model years 2020

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2019498 — model years 2019

    Issue: On certain cars, the wheel lug nuts were not properly tightened during assembly. This could cause the nuts to loosen or fall off, and could result in a wheel separating from the car. Note: For the Ioniq model, this recall only involves the Ioniq…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

1 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 1 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

  1. Confirm the exact powertrain before applying EV, hybrid, or gasoline checks.
  2. Test charging where applicable and check low-voltage starting behavior and dashboard warnings.
  3. Inspect wheel fasteners, tires, brakes, and steering; do not infer recall applicability from symptoms.
  4. Check campaign 19V720000 and other campaigns by VIN.
  5. Use a powertrain-appropriate professional inspection.

Recall/safety notes

Local NHTSA campaign references: 19V720000. Applicability is limited to the years/scopes described and must be confirmed by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model