Kia Sephia

Kia Sedan 1995-2001

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Kia
Model
Kia Sephia
Year range
1995-2001
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Kia Sephia 1998–1999 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Kia Sephia year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Kia Sephia coverage

Short answer

Kia Sephia has CarFaultIQ coverage for 1995-2001, including structured variants, market coverage, and matched local evidence where available. It is not a reliability score or recall lookup.

Key takeaways

  • Structured coverage: 1995-2001 with no year or variant posts.
  • Market coverage: United States and Canada.
  • Recall evidence: no matched local recall row; this is not an absence claim.
  • Complaint signals: no matched local complaint row; local coverage may be incomplete.
  • Publication gate: human review remains required before publishing.

The Kia Sephia hub is a CarFaultIQ evidence page for a consumer vehicle model represented in the structured dataset with year, market, powertrain, and configuration coverage. It connects the imported vehicle-year database with local recall and owner-complaint snapshots, then points toward relevant diagnostic references without making unsupported reliability or repair-cost claims.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage currently spans 1995-2001 with 7 canonical model-year records and 20 structured variants. Market coverage in the imported data includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration overview

Imported source records list fuel or energy labels including Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|X. Drivetrain and trim-level detail remains in the structured selector rather than separate year or variant posts.

Selected-year evidence module

Use the structured year selector on this page to compare imported variants and local evidence status by model year. The selector is intentionally dynamic; CarFaultIQ does not create one page per model year or trim.

Relevant diagnostic references

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Start with a cold vehicle when possible and note warning lights before clearing any codes.
  • Road-test idle quality, acceleration, shift behavior, steering, braking, and operating temperature.
  • Scan for stored codes and inspect for fluid leaks, tire wear, and underbody damage.
  • Check VIN-specific recalls in official tools because the local snapshot may not contain every applicable campaign.
  • Use a qualified pre-purchase inspection; this page is an evidence hub, not a substitute for diagnosis.

Evidence strength and limitations

This page separates recall evidence from complaint signals. Local evidence can be incomplete, and a missing matched row is not the same as proof that no recall, complaint, service bulletin, or owner concern exists.

Source notes

Structured vehicle coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from the local NHTSA harvester snapshots. Official recall applicability must be checked by VIN at NHTSA recalls.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Kia Sephia years?

No. It shows structured coverage and local evidence signals without ranking reliability, safety, repair cost, or best and worst years.

Does a matched recall mean every Kia Sephia is affected?

No. Recall campaign rows must be checked by VIN because applicability can depend on year, build date, equipment, market, and completed remedies.

Are complaint signals proof of a defect?

No. Complaint rows are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation or frequency.

Kia Sephia 1998–1999

No verified model-specific fault records for 1998–1999 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 20

2001 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 5-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDManual 5-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

7 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 04V305000 — model years 1999, 2000

    ON CERTAIN PASSENGER AND SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES, THE FRONT SAFETY BELT BUCKLES MAY EMIT A "CLICK" SOUND DURING THE BUCKLING PROCESS THAT IS SIMILAR TO THE SOUND EMITTED WHEN A BUCKLE IS BEING LATCHED, WHEN IT IS NOT.

  • 02V216000 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998

    ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES, THE SAFETY BELT BUCKLE MAY "FALSE LATCH" AND EXPOSE THE DRIVER TO UNRESTRAINED MOVEMENT DURING A CRASH.

  • 02V207000 — model years 1998

    ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES WITH 36,000 MILES OR LESS AS OF JULY 15, 2002, AN ELECTRICAL CONTACT PROBLEM MAY HAVE DEVELOPED IN THE HAZARD SWITCH WHICH COULD RESULT IN INOPERATIVE HAZARD LIGHTS AND/OR INOPERATIVE TURN SIGNALS.

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

24 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10201529 — model years 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001

    TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN: INFORMATION FOR HEADLAMP CONDENSATION AND MOISTURE - This bulletin has been revised to include additional information. New/revised sections of this bulletin are indicated by a black bar in the margin area. This bulletin provides information relating to some Kia models that may…

  • 10133170 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001

    PITSTOP - ENGINE COMPONENT RE-USE GUIDELINES - In general, parts and components removed during engine repairs should be considered serviceable, and should be thoroughly cleaned and transferred to the new engine.

  • 10109812 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001

    TSB: MANDATORY REPLACEMENT OF LOCKING/SECURITY HARDWARE - By design, certain fasteners, which are designed to lock into place once fully attached, are utilized in various Kia models and are strictly intended for ?one time use.? Some examples are: axle shaft nuts with stake collar, cotter…

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

15 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • EA04007 — model years 1999, 2000

    THE MANUFACTURER HAS INITIATED A SAFETY RELATED CAMPAIGN TO RECALL THE SUBJECT VEHICLES FOR CORRECTION OF THE SEAT BELT BUCKLE DEFECT.THE CORRECTIVE ACTION IS TO REPLACE THE SEAT BELTS/BUCKLES.THIS SAFETY RECALL PROGRAM HAS BEEN ASSIGNED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NO. 04V305.

  • EA04004 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001

    BASED ON THE LOW RATE OF FUEL SPIT-BACK INCEDENTS (14.3 INCIDENTS PER 100,000 VEHICLES SOLD), A LOW WARRANTY CLAIMS RATE OF 0.02 PERCENT, AND THE LACK OF ENGINEERING INFORMATION THAT WOULD SUPPORT THE PRESENCE OF AN ENGINEERING DEFECT, A SAFETY-RELATED DEFECT TREND HAS NOT BEEN…

  • RQ03007 — model years 1999, 2000, 2001

    INFORMATION RECEIVED AND ANALYZED DURING THIS RQ DISCLOSED THAT MY 1999 AND 2000 KIA SEPHIA AND SPORTAGE VEHICLES WERE EQUIPPED WITH MODIFIED VERSIONS OF THE SAME SAFETY BELT LATCH ASSEMBLY AS THOSE RECALLED IN CAMPAIGN NO. 02V-216.THESE LATCH ASSEMBLIES WERE IDENTIFIED AS TYPE A97. ODI…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

2 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2004294 — model years 2000

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2000095 — model years 2000

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

1,679 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE:GASOLINE: 190 reports
  • SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:FOUNDATION COMPONENTS:DISC: 179 reports
  • POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: 162 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model