Mitsubishi Eclipse

Mitsubishi Eclipse representative vehicle image
Representative editorial illustration of the Mitsubishi Eclipse.

Mitsubishi Sedan 1995-2012

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Mitsubishi
Model
Mitsubishi Eclipse
Year range
1995-2012
Generation
1995–1999 · 2nd Generation; 2000–2005 · 3rd Generation; 2006–2012 · 4th Generation
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Mitsubishi Eclipse 1995-1999 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Mitsubishi Eclipse year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Mitsubishi Eclipse coverage

Short answer

Mitsubishi Eclipse coverage spans 1995-2012 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 1995-2012; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Mitsubishi Eclipse page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 1995-2012 across 18 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Premium Gasoline|Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|Gasoline|X|Z. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Mitsubishi Eclipse years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Mitsubishi Eclipse is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Mitsubishi Eclipse 1995–1999

No verified model-specific fault records for 1995–1999 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Premium Gasoline, Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: 4WD/AWD, FWD
  • Total structured variants: 140

2012 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 4-speed
CanadaPremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 5-speed
CanadaPremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 6-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 5-speed
CanadaPremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 5-speed
CanadaPremium GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 6-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 4-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 5-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S4)
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDManual 5-speed
USPremium GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S5)
USPremium GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S5)
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S4)

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

35 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 15V337000 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

    Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc. (MMNA) is recalling certain model year 2006-2009 Eclipse vehicles manufactured April 20, 2005, to February 13, 2009, and 2007-2009 Eclipse Spyder vehicles manufactured December 23, 2005, to February 13, 2009. Due to corrosion inside the antil-lock brake system (ABS) unit,…

  • 15V338000 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

    Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc. (MMNA) is recalling certain model year 2000-2005 Eclipse vehicles manufactured April 5, 1999, to December 17, 2004, 2001-2005 Eclipse Spyder vehicles manufactured January 19, 2000, to March 18, 2005, 2001-2005 Chrysler Sebring vehicles manufactured April 17, 2000, to February 21,…

  • 09E025000 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999

    DOPE, INC. IS RECALLING 42,540 COMBINATION CORNER AND BUMPER LAMP ASSEMBLIES OF VARIOUS PART NUMBERS SOLD FOR USE AS AFTERMARKET EQUIPMENT FOR VARIOUS PASSENGER VEHICLES. THESE HEADLAMPS FAIL TO CONFORM TO THE REQUIREMENTS OF FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARD NO. 108, "LAMPS, REFLECTIVE DEVICES, AND…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

393 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 10240443 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

    This is a Dealer Letter sent to dealers informing that Mitsubishi Technical Training has launched the 3rd quarterly technician quiz for 2023.

  • 10235608 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

    This Technical Service Bulletin reviews the regulations that require a label showing the reduction in load carrying capacity be affixed to vehicles when the total net weight of accessories is more than 1.5 percent of the vehicle's gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or 100 lbs.

  • 10235609 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

    This Technical Service Bulletin provides instructions and material safety data sheets for removal of rap-film adhesive residue.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

8 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • PE05007 — model years 2000, 2001

    IMPROPER INSTALLATION OF THE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT HEADLIGHT CONNECTOR CAN CAUSE INCREASED TERMINAL RESISTANCE AND OVERHEAT THE HEADLIGHT CONNECTOR.THIS PROBLEM CAN AFFECT INDEPENDENTLY EITHER HEADLIGHT BUT DOES NOT CAUSE SIMULTANEOUS FAILURE OF BOTH HEADLIGHTS. THE PROBLEM ALSO DOES NOT AFFECT FRONT PARKING LAMPS.AS A RESULT, THE…

  • EA02007 — model years 2000, 2001, 2002

    SEE ATTACHED REPORT.

  • PE01044 — model years 2000, 2001

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

7 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2015220 — model years 2003, 2004, 2005

    On certain vehicles, in the event of a collision that warrants a deployment of the front passenger airbag, the deploying airbag could strike the passenger sun visor if it is in the down position. This could cause the sun visor to detach from its mounting…

  • 2015219 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

    On certain vehicles, corrosion may occur in the ABS hydraulic unit due to a reaction between the brake fluid and the surface treatment of the internal valves. If this were to occur and the ABS hydraulic unit is activated, one or more of the valves…

  • 2008374 — model years 2006, 2007

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

2,156 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • SERVICE BRAKES: 244 reports
  • WHEELS:RIM: 233 reports
  • AIR BAGS:FRONTAL: 94 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model