Pontiac Sunfire

Pontiac Sunfire representative vehicle image
Representative editorial illustration of the Pontiac Sunfire.

Pontiac Sedan 1995-2005

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Pontiac
Model
Pontiac Sunfire
Year range
1995-2005
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Pontiac Sunfire 2003–2005 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Pontiac Sunfire year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Pontiac Sunfire coverage

Short answer

CarFaultIQ's corrected dataset covers the Pontiac Sunfire for 1995-2005. This page is a structured model hub; issue-specific claims remain evidence-gated.

Key takeaways

  • Supported years: 1995-2005 | Source market coverage: US and Canada | Structured catalogue hub only; no unverified fault claims

Pontiac Sunfire is represented in CarFaultIQ’s corrected vehicle catalogue for 1995-2005, with source coverage for US and Canada.

This catalogue hub is intended to organize verified model-year and configuration data. Recorded fuel categories: Regular Gasoline. Recorded electrification categories: not yet summarized. Recorded drivetrain categories: FWD.

These fields describe structured dataset coverage only. Reliability, common-problem, recall, complaint, repair-cost and drivability claims should be added only when model-specific evidence has been verified.

Pontiac Sunfire 2003–2005

No verified model-specific fault records for 2003–2005 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 86

2005 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic 4-speed
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 5-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic 4-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDManual 5-speed

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

21 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 08E063000 — model years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

    DORMAN PRODUCTS IS RECALLING 3,900 INTERMEDIATE STEERING SHAFTS DORMAN PART NOS. 425-151, 425-152, AND 425-153, (SOLD UNDER DORMAN'S "OE SOLUTIONS" BRAND NAME), BALKAMP #'S 7-3057, 7-3058, 7-3059 (SOLD UNDER THE "NAPA" BRAND NAME), AND PLATINUM PARTS #'S 2425151, 2425152, AND 2425153 MANUFACTURED DURING THE MONTH…

  • 07E021000 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002

    CERTAIN DELPHI FUEL PRESSURE REGULATORS, P/NOS. FP10020-11B1, FP10026-11B1, AND FP10027-11B1, SOLD AFTER JANUARY 9, 2007, AS AFTERMARKET EQUIPMENT FOR VARIOUS PASSENGER VEHICLES LISTED ABOVE. THE UNIVERSAL PRESSURE REGULATORS (UPR) WERE PRODUCED WITHOUT AN O'RING AND RETAINER.

  • 07E015000 — model years 1996, 1997, 1998

    CERTAIN DELPHI AFTERMARKET FUEL PUMP MODULES / MODULE RESERVOIR ASSEMBLIES (MRA) THAT WERE SOLD FOR USE ON THE ABOVE LISTED VEHICLES. DURING PRODUCTION THE MRAS VENT AND FUEL RETURN TUBES WERE REVERSED. THIS CONDITION CAN RESULT IN THE VEHICLE NOT RUNNING CORRECTLY (IDLE ROUGH AND/OR…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

877 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11020816 — model years 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

    This PI communicates the requirement to provide a pico file to receive diagnostic assistance from TAC.

  • 11019072 — model years 2005

    This Preliminary Information communication provides information to the technician about the use of J-35616-64B and Mini 50 terminal test probe, replacement terminals, and terminated leads.

  • 11019074 — model years 2005

    This Preliminary Information communication provides information to the technician about the use of J-35616-64B and Mini 50 terminal test probe, replacement terminals, and terminated leads.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

8 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • EA04028 — model years 2003

    ON MAY 14, 2004 THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) OPENED A PRELIMINARY EVALUATION (PE04-043) BASED ON CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ALLEGING THAT THE BRAKE/TAIL TURN SIGNAL LAMPS WOULD NOT OPERATE PROPERLY WHEN EITHER THE TAIL LIGHTS WERE TURNED ON, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, OR WHEN…

  • PE04043 — model years 2003

    COMPLAINANTS ALLEGE THAT THE REAR TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO ILLUMINATE AND DO NOT PROVIDE A SIGNAL TO DRIVERS IN FOLLOWING VEHICLES.ODI HAS RECEIVED ONE REPORT OF A CRASH WHERE THE COMPLAINANT BRAKED AND ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AND THE FOLLOWING VEHICLE IMPACTED THE…

  • DP03007 — model years 1996, 1997

    ON SEPTEMBER 23, 2003, THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (NHTSA) RECEIVED A LETTER DATED SEPTEMBER 8, 2003 FROM MR. DONALD FRIEDMAN, PETITIONING THE AGENCY TO OPEN A DEFECT INVESTIGATION INTO UNINTENDED ACCELERATION INVOLVING [MODEL YEAR] 1996 AND 1997 GENERAL MOTORS J-CARS.IN SUPPORT OF HIS…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

20 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2004388 — model years 2003

    Certain vehicles were produced without the required dielectric grease being applied to the rear light bulb socket assemblies. Absence of the grease can result in electrical arcing between the light bulb major filament contact and the socket terminal that can render the stop and turn…

  • 2004211 — model years 2004

    Certain vehicles do not comply with the requirements of CMVSS 209 - Seat Belt Assemblies, and CMVSS 210 - Seat Belt Assembly Anchorages. On some of these vehicles, the passenger-side rear safety belt may have been installed with an incorrect nut and bolt that may…

  • 2004033 — model years 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001

    On certain vehicles, if the engine fails to start and the driver holds the key in the "Start" position for an extended period, high current flowing through the ignition switch may produces enough heat to melt internal switch parts. If the switch is damaged, a…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

1,139 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 138 reports
  • ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING:ENGINE: 85 reports
  • SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:ANTILOCK/TRACTION CONTROL/ELECTRONIC LIMITED SLIP: 74 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model