Toyota Prius Prime

Toyota Prius Prime vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Toyota Sedan 2017–2025

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Toyota
Model
Toyota Prius Prime
Year range
2017–2025
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Toyota Prius Prime 2023-2024 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Toyota Prius Prime year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Toyota Prius Prime coverage

Short answer

Toyota Prius Prime coverage spans 2017-2023 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 2017-2023; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Toyota Prius Prime page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 2017-2023 across 7 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Electricity|X*|Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Electric. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Toyota Prius Prime years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Toyota Prius Prime is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Toyota Prius Prime 2023–2024

No verified model-specific fault records for 2023–2024 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Electricity, Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Electric
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 18

2025 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
USSeElectricityElectric, Plug-in HybridNot specifiedContinuously Variable
USXseElectricityElectric, Plug-in HybridNot specifiedContinuously Variable

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

6 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 26V049000 — model years 2023, 2024

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2023-2024 Prius Prime, 2023-2026 Prius, and 2025-2026 Prius Plug-in Hybrid vehicles. Water may enter the rear door switch and cause a short circuit, allowing an unlocked rear door to open unexpectedly.

  • 25V744000 — model years 2023, 2024

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2022-2026 Toyota, Lexus, and Subaru Solterra vehicles equipped with a Panoramic View Monitor (PVM) system. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models. A software error may cause the rearview camera to freeze…

  • 24V548000 — model years 2023, 2024

    Gulf States Toyota, Inc. (GST) is recalling certain Toyota 2023 GR Supra, 2024 4 Runner, Corolla, Grand Highlander, Grand Highlander Hybrid, Land Cruiser Hybrid, Tacoma, Tacoma Hybrid, 2023-2024 BZ4X, Corolla Cross Hybrid, GR Corolla, GR86, Highlander, Highlander Hybrid, Prius, Prius Prime, Sequoia Hybrid, Tundra, Tundra…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

331 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11029896 — model years 2023, 2024

    OBSOLETE NOTICE February 27, 2026: This bulletin is no longer applicable and is now obsolete.

  • 11028726 — model years 2020, 2021, 2022

    OBSOLETE NOTICE January 30, 2026: This bulletin is now obsolete. Please see T-SB-0001-26.

  • 11028722 — model years 2020, 2021, 2022

    Some 2018 – 2024 model year Toyota vehicles equipped with a Premium Audio with Dynamic Navigation System require a Special Service Tool (SST) USB flash drive to update the map, points of interest, and system software.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

1 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • DP22005 — model years 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

    NHTSA received a petition on or about July 18, 2022, requesting that Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 141 be applied to all electric and hybrid vehicles operating in the United States. The petition can be reviewed at NHTSA.gov under ODI Number 11486072. FMVSS 141…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

7 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2026034 — model years 2023, 2024, 2025

    Issue: On certain vehicles, water could leak into the rear door handle(s) and cause the door opener switch(es) to short circuit. If this happens, the rear door(s) could open unexpectedly while driving. Note: This is an expansion of Transport Canada recall no. 2024-228. Vehicles repaired…

  • 2025594 — model years 2023, 2024, 2025

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2024228 — model years 2023, 2024

    Issue: On certain vehicles, water could leak into the rear door handle(s) and could cause the door opener switch(es) to short circuit. If this happens, the rear door(s) could open unexpectedly while driving. Safety Risk: A door that opens while driving could create a risk…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

116 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 23 reports
  • VISIBILITY/WIPER: 17 reports
  • UNKNOWN OR OTHER: 13 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

  1. Confirm both charging and gasoline operating modes complete normally.
  2. Check the 12-volt system, charging cable/port condition, and dashboard warnings.
  3. Road-test braking at low and moderate speeds without treating regenerative feel as proof of condition.
  4. Check campaign applicability by VIN, including campaign 24V548000 where relevant.
  5. Use a hybrid-qualified professional inspection; this checklist is not a substitute.

Recall/safety notes

Local NHTSA campaign references: 24V548000. Applicability is limited to the years/scopes described and must be confirmed by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model