Toyota Prius v

Toyota Prius v vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Toyota Sedan 2012-2018

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Toyota
Model
Toyota Prius v
Year range
2012-2018
Generation
Coverage for this page is given by model year rather than a confirmed generation.
Vehicle taxonomy
Prius v

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Toyota Prius v 2012-2017 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Toyota Prius v year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

What to check first on this selection

  • Verify open recalls by VIN with the official recall database for your market.
  • Scan for stored OBD trouble codes before you buy or drive far.
  • Inspect the service history for major repairs and deferred maintenance.
  • Road test for any symptom listed on the published fault pages above.
  • Get a professional pre-purchase inspection if any listed symptom is present.

Before buying this year window

Review the published problem pages above, confirm open recalls by VIN, check the service history for those repairs, and get a pre-purchase inspection if any listed symptom is present.

Before driving with symptoms

Match what you feel to a fault page above for its drive-safety verdict. Treat brake, steering, overheating, airbag, or fuel-smell symptoms as stop-and-check-now.

Before trusting a seller claim

Ask for records that prove any "already fixed" claim, cross-check it against the known checks above, and verify recalls by VIN instead of taking a verbal assurance.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Toyota Prius v coverage

Model coverage

Coverage dashboard

Coverage at a glance

1year ranges 0fault pages 0OBD/symptom links

Known checks by year range

2012-2018 Archive

No dedicated public problem cluster yet - use common problems and best/worst-years.

Buyer path

  1. Start with the model hub
  2. Review used-car buyer warnings
  3. Use OBD and symptom pages for current issues
  4. Verify recalls by VIN and inspect service records.

Coverage status

1 related public page is available for this model.

Short answer

CarFaultIQ's corrected dataset covers the Toyota Prius v for 2012-2018. This page is a structured model hub; issue-specific claims remain evidence-gated.

Key takeaways

  • Supported years: 2012-2018 | Source market coverage: US and Canada | Structured catalogue hub only; no unverified fault claims

Toyota Prius v is represented in CarFaultIQ’s corrected vehicle catalogue for 2012-2018, with source coverage for US and Canada.

This catalogue hub is intended to organize verified model-year and configuration data. Recorded fuel categories: Regular Gasoline. Recorded electrification categories: not yet summarized. Recorded drivetrain categories: FWD.

These fields describe structured dataset coverage only. Reliability, common-problem, recall, complaint, repair-cost and drivability claims should be added only when model-specific evidence has been verified.

Toyota Prius v 2012–2017

No verified model-specific fault records for 2012–2017 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 13

2018 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedContinuously Variable

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

6 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 20V369000 — model years 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2013-2015 Prius and 2014-2017 Prius V vehicles not included in recall 18V-684. Excessive voltage in the Intelligent Power Module (IPM) within the inverter may cause the hybrid system to shut down, causing the vehicle to stall…

  • 18V684000 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2010-2014 Toyota Prius and 2012-2014 Toyota Prius V vehicles. Excessive voltage in the Intelligent Power Module (IPM) within the inverter may cause the hybrid system to shut down, causing the vehicle to stall while being driven.

  • 15V449000 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain model year 2012-2014 Prius V vehicles manufactured August 22, 2011, to June 30, 2014. A component within the hybrid inverter assembly may overheat, causing the hybrid system to reduce output power allowing the vehicle to only…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

753 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11029892 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    OBSOLETE NOTICE February 13, 2026: This bulletin is now obsolete. Please see T-SB-0009-26.

  • 11029893 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    This bulletin includes basic procedures for performing a rescue charge on Ni-MH high voltage (HV) batteries. This bulletin should be used in conjunction with the applicable model and model year Repair Manual while performing a rescue charge. The GRX-5100 should be used wherever the Repair…

  • 11028712 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    Some 2005 – 2026 Toyota vehicles that have undergone water intrusion may exhibit a condition in which a musty odor is present. Follow the procedures in this bulletin to remediate the odor and address this condition. The purpose of this Service Bulletin is to provide…

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

1 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • DP23005 — model years 2012

    The Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) has received a petition dated September 19, 2023 from the owner of a 2012 Toyota Prius V requesting that ODI reevaluate its decision to deny DP19-004. In the letter, the petitioner reported experiencing an unexpected and complete loss of…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

6 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2021723 — model years 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2020284 — model years 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    Issue: The Intelligent Power Module (IPM), which is part of the hybrid drive system, could become damaged under certain driving conditions. This could cause various warnings to appear on the instrument panel and cause the hybrid system to shut down. If this happens, there can…

  • 2018546 — model years 2012, 2013, 2014

    On certain vehicles, the Intelligent Power Module (IPM), which is part of the hybrid drive system, could become damaged under certain driving conditions. This could cause various warning lights to illuminate on the instrument panel of the vehicle and cause a reduction or loss of…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

473 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • SERVICE BRAKES: 239 reports
  • ENGINE: 68 reports
  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 57 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model

All Prius v coverage →