Toyota Yaris

Toyota Yaris vehicle image
CarFaultIQ representative editorial illustration; not an exact year or trim photograph. · Owned by the site operator

Toyota Sedan 2006-2020

Verify with official recall databases, service records, a mechanic inspection, and local market data before relying on this summary.

At a glance

Vehicle coverage snapshot

This snapshot uses the current page hierarchy, year-range meta, and vehicle taxonomy only.

Page roleModel Hub
Make
Toyota
Model
Toyota Yaris
Year range
2006-2020
Generation
2012–2018 · 3rd Generation
Vehicle taxonomy
No structured vehicle term available yet

Model-year and generation details come from structured catalogue data; confirm the exact vehicle from its VIN.

Selected coverage

Toyota Yaris 2019-2020 coverage

You're viewing the known checks and published problem pages linked to this Toyota Yaris year window.

No dedicated public problem cluster is available for this selected window yet. Start with the full model hub, common-problems page, and best/worst-years guide.

Always verify by VIN and a professional inspection, and check the official recall database for your market.

Change selection

Vehicle coverage

Change year or model

Choose a different year window or compare another model.

Full coverage

Explore full Toyota Yaris coverage

Short answer

Toyota Yaris coverage spans 2006-2020 with structured year, market, configuration, and evidence context. It is not a reliability score.

Key takeaways

  • Tier: Tier B.
  • Coverage: 2006-2020; no year or trim pages.
  • Recall rows: 0; VIN lookup required.
  • Complaint signals: 0; owner-reported and not defect proof.
  • Publication gate: local-only quality validation.

The Toyota Yaris page is a Tier B CarFaultIQ model hub. It covers supported years, market scope, structured configurations, and diagnostic navigation without creating one page per year or trim.

Supported years and market coverage

Structured coverage spans 2006-2020 across 15 canonical model-year record(s). Market coverage includes United States and Canada.

Powertrain and configuration coverage

Imported fuel labels include Regular Gasoline. Electrification labels include Gasoline|X|X. Detailed variants remain in the structured selected-year module.

Evidence limitations

This is a structured factual model hub. Local recall or complaint evidence is limited or not safely matched, so the page does not claim common problems, reliability trends, best years, worst years, recall absence, complaint absence, or repair costs.

Diagnostic navigation

Used-car inspection priorities

  • Check cold-start behavior, warning lights, visible leaks, tire wear, brake feel, and stored diagnostic codes.
  • Confirm the exact model year and configuration before applying any recall or diagnostic assumption.
  • Use the official recall lookup for VIN-specific campaign applicability.
  • Use a qualified inspection for purchase decisions; this page is an evidence hub, not a repair manual.

Source notes

Structured coverage comes from the imported CarFaultIQ v3.1 vehicle database. Recall and complaint signals come from local evidence tables created from traceable NHTSA harvester snapshots. Complaint narratives are not imported into public content.

Frequently asked questions

Does this page rank the best or worst Toyota Yaris years?

No. It presents structured coverage and evidence limitations without ranking years, reliability, safety, or repair cost.

Does a recall row mean every Toyota Yaris is affected?

No. Recall applicability must be checked by VIN and campaign scope.

Are complaint signals confirmed defects?

No. They are owner-reported signals for editorial review and do not prove causation.

Toyota Yaris 2019–2020

No verified model-specific fault records for 2019–2020 yet.

Clear this year range

Structured vehicle data

These fields are read live from the imported v3.1 vehicle tables. They are configuration coverage, not reliability or safety conclusions.

  • Fuel types: Regular Gasoline
  • Electrification: Gasoline
  • Drivetrain: FWD
  • Total structured variants: 62

2020 structured configurations

MarketTrim/source labelFuelElectrificationDriveTransmission
CanadaRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedAutomatic Select Shift 6-speed
CanadaSILRegular GasolineNot specifiedNot specifiedManual 6-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDManual 6-speed
USRegular GasolineGasolineFWDAutomatic (S6)

Official evidence for this model

Coverage below spans the explicitly mapped model years. Records do not apply to every model year or configuration.

US safety recalls

23 distinct official identifiers · US

Campaigns matched to recorded model years. Only an official VIN check can confirm whether an individual vehicle is affected.

  • 21V617000 — model years 2019, 2020

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2019-2020 Yaris, Yaris Hatchback, and Yaris Sedan vehicles. An impeller within the low-pressure fuel pump may crack and deform, potentially causing the fuel pump to fail.

  • 19V741000 — model years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

    Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2010-2016 4Runner, 2003-2006 Tundra, 2003-2013 Corolla, 2009-2010 Corolla Matrix, 2004-2005 RAV4, 2002-2007 Sequoia, 2011-2013 Sienna, 2008-2012 Scion xB, 2008-2009 Lexus IS-F, 2007-2012 Yaris and Lexus ES350, 2010-2017 Lexus GX460, 2002-2010 Lexus SC430, 2006-2012 Lexus IS250 and…

  • 19V503000 — model years 2017, 2018, 2019

    Southeast Toyota Distributors, LLC (SET) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Toyota Camry, Corolla, Rav4, Sienna, and Yaris iA vehicles equipped with factory-installed floor mats. The load carrying capacity modification label may be incorrect. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor…

Official NHTSA source

Manufacturer communications / TSBs

472 distinct official identifiers · US

Manufacturer service communications are not safety recalls and do not prove that every vehicle has the described condition.

  • 11028712 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020

    Some 2005 – 2026 Toyota vehicles that have undergone water intrusion may exhibit a condition in which a musty odor is present. Follow the procedures in this bulletin to remediate the odor and address this condition. The purpose of this Service Bulletin is to provide…

  • 11022964 — model years 2018

    Some customers may experience echoing on the line calling the vehicle when using Bluetooth Hands Free. This is caused by the phone Hands Free volume being too low.

  • 11020657 — model years 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    The air conditioning dye injection tool kit has been developed to aid in identifying the location of air conditioning refrigerant leaks. The procedures outlined in this Service Bulletin aid in locating, inspecting, and repairing refrigerant leaks.

Official NHTSA source

US defect investigations

4 distinct official identifiers · US

An investigation records a regulator review of a suspected defect. It is not automatically a finding or a recall.

  • DP23004 — model years 2019

    The Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) received a petition dated June 7, 2023, along with several subsequent submissions from the petitioner, requesting an investigation of the vehicle CAN Bus vulnerability to external attack in the Model Year…

  • EA21002 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

    From 2000 through 2017, Takata produced millions of air bag inflators using two types of phase-stabilized ammonium nitrate ("PSAN") propellant -- propellant 2004 and propellant 2004L. After prolonged exposure to high temperature cycles and humidity, inflators using propellant 2004 can degrade, causing the propellant to…

  • EA12006 — model years 2007, 2008

    On October 10, 2012, Toyota initiated a safety recall of approximately 2.5 million U.S. vehicles involving the following models and model years:2007-2009 Camry and Camry Hybrid, 2009 Corolla and Corolla Matrix, 2008 Highlander and Highlander Hybrid, 2007-2009 RAV4, 2008-2009 Scion xB and xD, 2008-2009 Sequoia,…

Official NHTSA source

Canadian recalls

17 distinct official identifiers · CA

Canadian-market records remain separate from US campaigns. Confirm applicability with Transport Canada and the manufacturer.

  • 2021723 — model years 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019

    Multiple source assertions are retained for this identifier. Consult the official record for configuration-specific details.

  • 2021491 — model years 2019, 2020

    Issue: On certain vehicles, the low-pressure fuel pump could fail. If this happens, the engine may run rough or may not start and the check engine light may turn on. This could also result in a sudden loss of engine power while driving. Safety Risk:…

  • 2019197 — model years 2015, 2016, 2017

    Issue: Over time, the wiring to the side airbag sensors in the front doors could corrode. This could cause the front seat-mounted side airbags and curtain shield airbags not to work properly. Note: This problem would cause the airbag warning light (SRS warning) to turn…

Official Transport Canada source

US owner complaint reports

833 distinct reports · US

Distinct ODI complaint identifiers, deduplicated across component and product rows. Reports are allegations, not confirmed defects, failure rates or reliability scores.

  • AIR BAGS: 359 reports
  • VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: 69 reports
  • ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: 67 reports

A report can name several components. Do not add component totals together.

Official NHTSA source

Evidence is served from a locally stored official-source snapshot. No external API is called to render this page. These records do not replace inspection or diagnosis. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.

Used-car checks

No structured used-car checks are verified on this model hub yet.

Recall/safety notes

No hand-written safety notes have been added to this hub. Official recall, bulletin and investigation records held for this vehicle are listed under documented evidence on this page — the absence of a note here does not mean no records exist. Always confirm by VIN.

Keep going

Next best action for this model